About Joshua Bell




At Home with Friends /

ďAt Home With Friends is inspired by Joshua Bellís fondness for hosting informal musicales in his Manhattan home. Join the Grammy Award-winning violinist as he celebrates the many musical friendships he has made over the years - a diverse group of artists sharing their love of music in an intimate setting. Features vocal and instrumental duets with Chris Botti, Sting, Josh Groban, Kristin Chenoweth, Regina Spektor and many others.ĒĖfrom product description at

Release date: September 29, 2009

Iíll probably order a copy. It caught my eye in an article at because of Nathan Gunnís participation, but I donít expect to like his song very much, Rachmaninoffís ďOh, Cease Thy Singing, Maiden Fair.Ē One can hear Dmitri Hvorostovsky sing that song at youtube. But on the whole I think the CD will be pleasant, something to listen to while driving in the car.

Track Listings
1. I Loves You Porgy featuring Chris Botti
2. Come Again featuring Sting
3. Oblivion featuring Carel Kraayenhof
4. Cinema Paradiso featuring Josh Groban
5. Para Ti featuring Tiempo Libre
6. My Funny Valentine featuring Kristin Chenoweth
7. Maybe So featuring Edgar Meyer
8. II. Allegretto espressivo alla Romanza from Sonata No. 3 for Violin and Piano
9. Eleanor Rigby featuring Frankie Moreno
10. Oh, Cease Thy Singing, Maiden Fair, Op. 4 No. 4 featuring Nathan Gunn
11. Il Postino featuring Carel Kraayenhof
12. Left Hand Song featuring Regina Spektor
13. Chovendo Na Roseira featuring Dave Grusin
14. Look Away featuring Edgar Meyer and Chris Thile
15. Variant Moods (Abridged version) Duet for Sitar & Violin featuring Anoushka Shankar
16. Iíll Take Manhattan featuring Marvin Hamlisch



"Much more than just a publicity vehicle, 'At Home With Friends' is an inspired, moving musical affair."--Bester News

"This is a wonderful crossover compilation, inspired by Bellís practice of hosting informal musical get-togethers in his Manhattan home."--John Sunier, Audiophile Audition


Kristin Chenoweth, Nathan Gunn, Marvin Hamlisch, and Frankie Moreno will join acclaimed violinist Joshua Bell for Live From Lincoln Center's telecast of Joshua Bell with Friends @ the Penthouse, to air on Thursday, January 21, 2010, at 8 p.m. on PBS.

Included on the program will be performances of "My Funny Valentine" featuring Chenoweith, "O, Cease Thy Singing, Maiden Fair" with Gunn, "I'll Take Manhattan" with Hamlisch, and "Eleanor Rigby" with Moreno.